Wikier

Zoom video lectures

Zoom - Recommended security settings

Here you can read about recommended security settings for Zoom.

Norsk versjon: Zoom - Anbefalte sikkerhetsinnstillinger

Configure meeting settings when you plan a new meeting or by editing a planned meeting. Some settings are not available via the Zoom desktop client and must be configured via the Zoom web portal.If you are only using Zoom for teaching or recordings, you can set Zoom settings in the web portal so that they apply to all meetings and recordings. Otherwise, you must remember to set meeting settings while planning each individual or recurring meeting.

Enabling Only Authenticated Users to Join

This option allows you to ensure that only users with NTNU accounts can participate in your meeting. Read more about logging in to Zoom as an NTNU user here and authentication here.This is how you turn on authentication as the default setting:

  1. Log in with your NTNU account and navigate to Settings in the Zoom web portal.
  2. Under Meeting and Security, scroll down until you can see an option titled Only authenticated meeting participants and webinar attendees can join meetings and webinars. Make sure that this is turn on, and that NTNU is selected under Meeting & Webinar Authentication Options.
    One arrow is pointing to the toggle switch next to "only authenticated users can join meetings" and is switched to the right to indicate that it is active. Another arrow is pointing to the "NTNU (Default) item under "meeting authentication options".
  3. Even though you can set this as the default setting for all meetings, you will still be able to change it every time you set up a new meeting.
    An arrow is pointing at a checkbox that says "require authentication to join" and is ticked off to indicate that it is active.

Deactivating "Join before host"

This option allows students to connect to meetings before they begin, but they will be presented with a pop-up window that reads "The meeting is waiting for the host to join." In this way, students will not be able to enter the actual meeting before you have started it.You can read more about this option here.

Granting Co-Host Rights

As the meeting host, you may wish to ask a Teaching Assistant (TA) and/or a student in the class to act as a co-host. They can assist you in muting/unmuting students, monitoring the chat for questions or problems, and removing disruptive participants. You can click on "More" next to a name in the Manage Participants window after the meeting has started and select Make Co-host.You can find the Manage Participants window by clicking on Participants on the bottom of the screen.

Muting Participants Upon Entry

By selecting this option, all participants that enter your meetings will be muted by default and will need to click "unmute" to speak. This can reduce unnecessary noise when there are many active microphones from participants in the meeting. As the meeting host, you may also click Mute all at the bottom of the Manage Participants window to mute every participant in the meeting at once.

Deactivating "Play sound when participants leave or join"

If the notification tones that play when participants enter or leave the meeting become distracting, the host can disable them from the drop-down menu at the bottom of the Manage Participants window after the meeting has started.

See Also

Contact

The Orakel Support Services can assist you if you encounter any problems.

Contact Section for Teaching and Learning Support for help with digital teaching through NTNU Help.

This page is maintained by Section for Teaching and Learning Support.